CTIA Cybersecurity Certification Testing for Internet of Things (IoT) devices

7layers is approved for testing to the CTIA Cybersecurity Certification for IoT Devices standard as part of its accreditation with the CTIA Authorized Test Laboratory (CATL) program to help manufacturers confirm their IoT device security features. With this test service, manufacturers can validate of their IoT devices’ security features. The standard is built on IoT security recommendations from the National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA) and the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), and was collaborated on by operators, manufacturers, test labs and security exports.

Program Categories

The certification program is defined into of 3 categories of tests to meet different industry requirements for IoT security. Each category builds upon the previous security feature requirements. Below is the general overview of the security features being test. More information about the test requirements can be found at the https://www.ctia.org/about-ctia/certification-resources under the IoT Cybersecurity Certification Program heading.

Level 1 IoT Cybersecurity Tests

  • Password Management
  • Authentication
  • Access Controls
  • Patch Management
  • Software Updates

Level 2 IoT Cybersecurity Tests

  • All of Category 1
  • Audit Log
  • Communication Encryption
  • Multi-factor Authentication
  • Remote Deactivation
  • Secure Booting
  • Threat Monitoring
  • Device Identity

Level 3 IoT Cybersecurity Tests

  • All of Category 1
  • All of Category 2
  • Encrypted Data Storage
  • Digital Signatures
  • Tamper Evidence
  • Design-In Features

Ask here for a budgetary CTIA Cybersecurity Certification testing quotation.